Skip to main content
Amnesty International UK
Log in

Entries invited for annual human rights media awards 2013

Amnesty International UK is inviting entries for its 22nd annual Media Awards, a prestigious set of awards which recognise excellence in journalism that has made a significant contribution to the UK public’s greater awareness and understanding of human rights issues.

Celebrating the best in human rights journalism, the awards recognise the vital role journalists play and the serious risks they face in highlighting injustice around the world.

Previous winners have included Alan Johnston (Radio), Marie Colvin (National Newspapers), Eamonn McCann (Nations & Regions), Robin Hammond (Photojournalism), Channel 4 News (Television News), Ghaith Abdul-Ahad (Gaby Rado) and Christine Toomey (Magazines).

Entries - which must have been published or broadcast for the first time in the UK between 1 March 2012 and 28 February 2013 - are invited in the following categories:

Digital Innovation: for innovation in digital news delivery
Television News: includes footage hosted online
Documentary: includes programmes given a UK theatrical screening
Radio: includes podcasts
International TV & Radio: for content seen or heard on a channel that has a broadcast platform in the UK and is available internationally
National Newspapers: for one article or a series of up to three
Magazines (two awards): for content published in a consumer magazine or magazine-style weekly or monthly newspaper supplement
Nations & Regions: print or broadcast entries from Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and the English regions (see contact details below)
Photojournalism: for pictures published or publicly exhibited in the UK
Gaby Rado Memorial Award: for an up-and-coming journalist who has covered national or international human rights stories in broadcast, online or print media for less than five years

To encourage a wide range of entries, we have established a sponsorship fund to support a limited number of entries from freelance journalists and filmmakers, as well as small digital and broadcast outlets.

The closing date is Friday 1 March 2013, with a reduced entry fee for entries received by 1 Februay.

Entries to the Nations & Regions and Photojournalism categories are free before 1 February, after which there is a charge of £50 to enter.

Entries should be made online at:

The winners of the Media Awards will be announced at a ceremony at London’s BFI on Tuesday 11 June 2013.

Note to editors:
For further information on criteria and eligibility, and for entry forms: Please note: all entries must be submitted online.

For further queries, please contact: Alison Willis, 020 7033 1544, /p>

For further information on the Nations and Regions award:
England and Wales: Alison Willis, 020 7033 1544, br /> Northern Ireland: Grainne Teggart, 07928 042315, br /> Scotland: Siobhan Reardon, 0131 718 6684, br />  

View latest press releases