Skip to main content
Amnesty International UK
Log in

UK: 14th Annual Media Awards: Winners announced

The awards recognise excellence in human rights reporting and acknowledge journalism's significant contribution to the UK public's awareness and understanding of human rights issues.

The ceremony, sponsored by PCI:Fitch, was hosted by BBC World Affairs Editor John Simpson CBE.

As well as seven categories covering newspapers, periodicals, photojournalism, radio, TV news and documentaries, there was an award for a UK journalist at the start of their career and one for a foreign journalist putting him or herself at risk by reporting on the human rights situation in their own country.

Amnesty International UK Director Kate Allen said:

"The media has a vital part to play in mobilising public opinion on human rights issues. It is a role it needs to play well if we are to prompt governments and international organisations to act. The Amnesty International Media Awards celebrate the skills and dedication of those journalists who have increased public awareness and understanding of these crucial issues, often placing their own lives at risk to do so."



London – the world in one city, Leo Benedictus, The Guardian

Judges: Anthony Barnett, George Monbiot, Michael Mansfield, Ziauddin Sardar, Peter Preston, Maggie Paterson.


Fascism in Russia, Billy Briggs, The Herald Magazine on Saturday, Scotland

Judges: Brice Dickson, Martin Wainwright, Fadia Faqir, Mark O’Callaghan, Deirdre Forbes, Caroline Moorehead, Patrick Corrigan.


America's Gulag, Stephen Grey, New Statesman

Judges: Clive Stafford Smith, Gillian Slovo, Fareena Alam, Samira Ahmed, Greg Neale, Maggie Paterson.


Flames of Desperation, Nicola Kurtz, Sunday Times Magazine

Judges: Heidi Bradner, Mark Sealy, Jon Levy, Liz Jobey, Paul Wombell, Maggie Paterson.


Bhopal, BBC Radio 4, Susan Roberts – Director & Producer

Judges: Joan Bakewell, Audrey Carville, Francesa Silvani, Lizo Mzimba, Aasmah Mir, Mike Blakemore.


Panorama - The New Killing Fields, BBC, Darren Kemp – Producer, Hilary Andersson – Reporter

Judges: Jana Bennett, Alan Hayling, John Battesk, Rosemary Hollis, Anton Antonowicz, Mike Blakemore.


Falluja Forensics Broadcast Company - Channel 4 News Independents, Production Company - Guardian Films Tara Sutton – Director

Judges: Nick Clarke, Yigal Chazan, Adrian Wells, Will Hutton, Mike Blakemore.


For a journalist at the start of their career, in memory of Gaby Rado who died in Iraq two years ago.

Ali A Fadhil, Channel 4 Independents Fund and Guardian Films

Judges: Anna Ford, Peter Wilby, Andrew Macdonald, Martha Kearney, Melanie McFadyean, Mike Blakemore.


Marielos Monzón, Guatemala

Marielos Monzón has been subjected to death threats and intimidation because of her work in Guatemala highlighting human rights abuses.

As well as a regular radio programme on Guatemala City's Radio Universidad, Marielos has a weekly column in daily newspaper Prensa Libre.

Amnesty International, which helped her to temporarily leave the country in 2003 because of fears for her life when several intruders broke into her house and she received numerous anonymous phone calls, believes that this award may benefit her through increased international visibility and recognition, contributing to her protection and that of others.

Marielos Monzón will be speaking in London on 26 September. Find out more and send an appeal to the Guatemalan authorities...

Find out more about the 2005 Media Awards... /b>

View latest press releases