Skip to main content
Amnesty International UK
Log in

Northern Ireland entries invited for annual media awards

Amnesty International UK is inviting entries for its 22nd annual Media Awards 2013, a prestigious set of awards which recognise excellence in journalism that has put a spotlight on injustice and made a significant contribution to the UK public’s greater awareness and understanding of human rights issues. 

Celebrating the best in human rights journalism, the awards recognise the vital role journalists play and the serious risks they face in highlighting injustice around the world.
Previous winners have included Eamonn McCann (Nations & Regions), Alan Johnston (Radio), Marie Colvin (National Newspapers), Robin Hammond (Photojournalism), Channel 4 News (Television News), Ghaith Abdul-Ahad (Gaby Rado) and Christine Toomey (Magazines).
Entries - which must have been published or broadcast for the first time in the UK between 1 March 2012 and 28 February 2013 - are invited in the following categories:
  • Nations & Regions: print or broadcast entries from Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales and the English regions (see contact details below)
  • Digital Innovation: for innovation in digital news delivery
  • Television News: includes footage hosted online
  • Documentary: includes programmes given a UK theatrical screening
  • Radio: includes podcasts
  • International TV & Radio: for content seen or heard on a channel that has a broadcast platform in the UK and is available internationally
  • National Newspapers: for one article or a series of up to three
  • Magazines (two awards): for content published in a consumer magazine or magazine-style weekly or monthly newspaper supplement
  • Photojournalism: for pictures published or publicly exhibited in the UK
  • Gaby Rado Memorial Award: for an up-and-coming journalist who has covered national or international human rights stories in broadcast, online or print media for less than five years.
To encourage a wide range of entries, we have established a sponsorship fund to support a limited number of entries from freelance journalists and filmmakers, as well as small digital and broadcast outlets.
The closing date is Friday 1 March 2013, with a reduced entry fee for entries received by 1 Feb 2013. 
Entries to the Nations & Regions and Photojournalism categories are free before 1 February, after which there is a charge of £50 to enter.
Enter online now
The winners of the Media Awards will be announced at a ceremony at London’s BFI on Tuesday 11 June 2013.

View latest press releases