Text size

All popular browsers allow zooming in and out by pressing the Ctrl (Cmd in OS X) and + or - keys. Or alternatively hold down the Ctrl key and scroll up or down with the mouse.

Line height



The winners are:

· PRINT Robert Fisk for his series of articles on NATO bombings in Yugoslavia for The Independent

· PERIODICALS Janine di Giovanni - The rape of Kosovo in the Times Magazine

· PHOTOJOURNALISM Mike Moore - Child victims of war in The Mirror

· RADIO BBC Radio 4: Broadcasting House - Zambia reported by Ishbel Matheson

· TELEVISION NEWS Sue Lloyd-Roberts for her report - Nepal: rape, abortion, prison for BBC Correspondent

· TELEVISION DOCUMENTARY Insight News Television, in association with Channel 4 Television - 'Out of Africa' reported by Sorious Samura.

· SPECIAL AWARD FOR HUMAN RIGHTS JOURNALISM UNDER THREAT Ignacio Gómez, special investigations editor of the Colombian newspaper El Espectador and Director of the Colombian Press Freedom Foundation. Ignacio Gómez was recently forced to flee his country after learning that his name was on a paramilitary death list.

· GLOBAL AWARD FOR HUMAN RIGHTS JOURNALISM Palagummi Sainath for his article A Dalit goes to Court published in The Hindu newspaper. Sainath's article lays bare the systematic discrimination against the 170 million dalits (formerly known as 'untouchables')in India.

Kate Allen, Director of Amnesty International UK said: 'These awards recognise the important role of the media in exposing violations, as well as telling the inspiring stories of people struggling against the odds to realise human rights.'

This year's judges were: Nick Clarke, presenter of BBC Radio 4's The World At One; Daljit Dhaliwal, presenter of ITN's World News; Mark Lattimer, Communications Director at Amnesty International UK; Francine Stock, novelist and presenter of BBC Radio 4's Front Row; Greg Whitmore, Picture Editor at The Observer; and Peter Wilby, Editor of the New Statesman.

The Media Awards 2000 were sponsored by HP:ICM.

View latest press releases