Skip to main content
Amnesty International UK
Log in

Call for entries to Amnesty's annual Media Awards 2012

Amnesty International is inviting entries for its 21st annual Media Awards in 2012, a prestigious set of awards which recognise excellence in journalism that has made a significant contribution to the UK public’s greater awareness and understanding of human rights issues. 

Celebrating the best in human rights journalism, the awards recognise the vital role journalists play and the serious risks they face in highlighting injustice around the world.

Previous winners have included Alan Johnston (Radio), Eamonn McCann (Nations & Regions), Robin Hammond (photojournalism), Channel 4 News (Television News), Ghaith Abdul-Ahad (Gaby Rado) and Christine Toomey (Magazines).

Entries - which must have been published or broadcast for the first time in the UK between 1 March 2011 and 28 February 2012 - are invited in the following categories:

• Digital: for innovation in digital news delivery
• Television News: includes footage hosted online
• Documentary: includes programmes given a UK theatrical screening
• Radio: includes podcasts
• International TV & Radio: for content seen or heard on a channel that has a broadcast platform in the UK and is available internationally
• National Newspapers: for one article or a series of three
• Magazines (two awards): for content published in a consumer magazine or magazine-style weekly or monthly newspaper supplement
• Nations & Regions: print or broadcast entries from Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and the English regions (see contact details below)
• Photojournalism: for pictures published or publicly exhibited in the UK
• Gaby Rado Memorial Award: for an up-and-coming journalist who has covered national or international human rights stories in broadcast, online or print media for less than five years
• Student: for entries published or broadcast by a recognised student outlet

To encourage a wide range of entries, we have established a sponsorship fund to support a limited number of entries from freelance journalists and filmmakers, as well as small digital and broadcast outlets.

The closing date is Thursday 1 March 2012, with a reduced entry fee for entries received by Friday 20th January 2012. Entries should be made online at:

The winners of the Media Awards will be announced at a ceremony at London’s BFI on Tuesday 29 May 2012.

Note to editors:
For further information on criteria and eligibility, and for entry forms: Please note: all entries must be submitted online.

For further queries, please contact: Alison Willis, 020 7033 1544, /p>

For further information on the Nations and Regions award:

England: Alison Willis, 020 7033 1544, /p>

Northern Ireland: Grainne Teggart, 07928 042315, /p>

Scotland: Shabnum Mustapha, 0131 718 6687, /p>

Wales: Cathy Owens, 029 2078 6415, br />  

View latest press releases