Skip to main content
Amnesty International UK
Log in

Amnesty Media Awards - entries closing soon

Naga Munchetty announced as ceremony host

Awards will be judged by top journalists from across the UK’s national, regional and broadcast titles

Closing date for entriesThursday 23 January 2020 

Enter here:

Journalists, photographers and programme makers have just over two weeks to enter the Amnesty Media Awards 2020 before the closing date on Thursday 23 January.

Amnesty UK is delighted to announce television presenter, journalist & broadcasterNaga Munchetty, as the host for this year’s Amnesty Media Awards ceremony, which will be held on Wednesday 22 April 2020 at BFI London.

A full list of judges has also been announced. These include Gary Younge (Guardian), Simon Israel (Channel 4 News), Jessica Winch (The Telegraph), Catrin Nye (BBC), Liliane Landor (Channel 4 News), Cait FitzSimons (5 News), Clive Myrie (BBC), Amelia Gentleman (Guardian), Seyi Rhodes (Unreported World), Charlie Brinkhurst-Cuff (gal-dem), Paul Waugh (HuffPost UK), Deborah Haynes (Sky News), Dan Hyde (Mail on Sunday), Nihal Arthanayake (BBC Radio 5 Live), and Andrea Thompson (Marie Claire UK).

This will be Amnesty UK’s 28th annual Media Awards, a prestigious set of awards that recognise the vital role journalists play and the serious risks they face in highlighting human rights abuses around the world.

Previous winners include Marie Colvin, Sue Lloyd-Roberts, Amelia Gentleman, Christina Lamb, Robert Fisk, Gary Younge and Alex Crawford.  

For more details on categories, criteria and eligibility visit:

View latest press releases