Skip to main content
Amnesty International UK
Log in

Amnesty Media Awards 2019 winners announced

Photographs of the winners can be downloaded here. Credit: Emily Mudie/Amnesty International.

The winners of Amnesty International UK’s prestigious Media Awards 2019 have been announced at a ceremony in London this evening. 

The Guardian took home Amnesty’s Impact Award for its Windrush Scandal campaign, and imprisoned Reuters journalists Wa Lone and Kyaw Soe Oo were recognised for their investigation into the massacre of Rohingya people in Inn Din state in Myanmar.

Channel 4 News, The Mail on Sunday and BBC Radio 4 were also winners at this evening’s awards.

Amnesty’s Media Awards, which have been running annually since 1992, celebrate excellence in human rights journalism and applaud the courage and determination of journalists who often put their lives on the line to report on vital human rights issues.

The ceremony was held at Bafta in central London and was hosted by journalist and Channel 4 News presenter Cathy Newman.

During the ceremony, there was a moment of reflection for the 89 journalists who were imprisoned last year for their work. The event was also used to highlighted the case of Barry McCaffrey and Trevor Birney - two Northern Ireland journalists who could potentially face prison sentences for exposing police collusion in a massacre of six civilians in Loughinisland in 1994. The pair gave a speech about their experiences during the ceremony.

Kate Allen, Director of Amnesty International UK, said:

“Media work is vitally important for Amnesty and everything we do. This evening we’ve seen some brilliant journalism that has had enormous human rights impact.

“The reporting we’ve recognised has helped change lives - from the Windrush Generation in Britain to Rohingya refugees in Bangladesh.

“Without a free press, it’s extremely difficult to expose wrong-doing and hold leaders to account. But even here in the UK we’re seeing it being threatened - especially with the sinister arrest of Trevor Birney and Barry McCaffrey in Northern Ireland last year.

“That’s why our awards are about congratulating the achievements of the media and championing its role in creating a fairer, more open world.”

The winners: 

News (Broadcast)

Judges: Ronke Phillips (ITV); Nevine Mabro (Channel 4 News); Sarah Sands (BBC Radio 4 Today); Peter Diapre (Sky News); Harriet Garland (Amnesty).


Judges: Lucy Pasha-Robinson (HuffPost UK); Anna Silverman (Grazia); Nosheen Iqbal (Observer); Emma Gatten (Telegraph); Sharon Lougher (Metro); Niall Couper (Amnesty).

Radio and Podcasts

Judges: Sirin Kale (Broadly, VICE); Felicity Finch (The Archers); Nick Rotherham (BBC); Jonathan Rugman (Channel 4 News); Sam Lawlor (Amnesty).

Student Journalist

Judges: Aimee Meade (Metro); Megha Mohan (BBC); Tina Moran (Press Association); Kirstie O’Mahony (Women in Media/BBC); Ella Berny (Amnesty).

Gaby Rado award for Best New Journalist

  • Joe Wallen - The Telegraph

Judges: Eleanor McDowall (Falling Tree Productions); Liliane Landor (Channel 4 News); Paul Waugh (HuffPost UK); Louis Rado; Harriet Garland (Amnesty).


Judges: Cait FitzSimons (5 News); Sue Turton (Channel 4 Unreported World); Toby Castle (BBC); Miriam Wells (Bureau of Investigative Journalism); Cora Bauer (Amnesty).

Regional Media

  • BBC Northern Ireland - Spotlight: Buried Secrets

Judges: Toby Granville (Newsquest); James Stewart (BBC); Matthew Barraclough (BBC); Gail Walker (Belfast Telegraph); Patrick Corrigan (Amnesty).


Judges: Phil Coomes (BBC); Paul Conroy (photojournalist and documentary maker); Claire Thomas (freelance); Liz Jobey (Financial Times Weekend Magazine); Rich Cowley (Amnesty).


Judges: Mustafa Khalili (BBC); Shehani Fernando (freelance VR director); Sam Joiner (The Times); Mohit Bakaya (BBC Radio 4 Factual); Laurie Hanna (Amnesty).

News (Written Word)

Judges: George Arbuthnot (Sunday Times); Emily Retter (Daily Mirror); Olivia Alabaster (Independent); Claire Newell (Telegraph); Harriet Garland (Amnesty).


  • BBC Two - Escape from Dubai: The Mystery of the Missing Princess

Judges: Fran Baker (Blakeway North); Chris Shaw (ITN); Nawal Al-Maghafi (BBC); Nick Springate (BBC); Neil Durkin (Amnesty).

Impact Award

Judges: Kate Allen (Director, Amnesty UK); Kerry Moscogiuri (Director of Campaigns and Communications, Amnesty UK); Thomas Schultz-Jagow (Senior Director, Campaigns and Communications, Amnesty International Secretariat).

The full Media Awards 2019 shortlist can be found here.  

Amnesty International USA and Amnesty International Canada will similarly honour journalists in their own countries this week, highlighting global work to promote human rights issues in the press.



View latest press releases