Skip to main content
Amnesty International UK
Log in

13th Annual Media Awards: Winners Announced

Held at BAFTA in London on the evening of Thursday 13 May, the awards ceremony was hosted by writer, columnist and broadcaster Joan Bakewell. The presenters of the awards included Sir Bob Geldof, Roger Graef, Krishnan Guru Murthy, Sue MacGregor, Darcus Howe, Nick Clarke, George Alagiah, Milverton Wallace, Martin Wainwright and Lindsay Taylor.

Amnesty International UK Director Kate Allen said:

“News reports and features give a voice to those who are often unheard and frequently prompt governments or the international community to act. For all those whose lives have been affected it is essential that these stories remain in the mainstream media.”


  • National Newspapers
    The People The Law Forgot, James Meek, The Guardian
  • TV Documentary
    Access To Evil, Olenka Frenkiel, BBC This World
  • Photojournalism
    Ghosts of the Apocalypse, Philip Blenkinsop, Sunday Times Magazine
  • Radio
    Crossing Continents-India, Lucy Ash, BBC R4
  • Periodicals
    The Bitterest Betrayal, Vikram Dodd and Tania Branigan, Guardian Weekend Magazine
  • TV News
    Equitorial Guinea: Lindsey Hilsum, C4News
  • Gaby Rado
    James Astill for reports from Democratic Republic of Congo for The Guardian, The Observer and Newsnight
  • Regional media
    Asylum Seeking Children's rights, Lorna Martin, The Herald, Scotland

  • Global Award for Human Rights Journalism
    Slaves of the 21st Century, Raphael Gomide, O Dia Newspaper, Brazil. This award, established in 1999, recognises the contribution of human rights journalism anywhere around the world.
  • Special Award for Human Rights Journalism Under Threat
    Kifle Mulat, Editor-in-chief of Lissane Hizeb (Voice of the People) monthly newspaper and magazine. He is also President of the Ethiopian Free Press Journalists Association. Kifle Mulat received the award in recognition of his bravery in defending the freedom of the press in Ethiopia in the face of constant official repression. Kifle Mulat has been imprisoned six times as a prisoner of conscience since 1992 under the Press Law on account of his journalist activities.
  • Judges

    The awards were judged by a distinguished panel consisting of:

    • Samira Ahmed
    • George Alagiah
    • Yasmin Alibhai-Brown
    • Anton Antonowicz
    • Maggie Brown
    • Neil Burgess
    • Shami Chakrabati
    • Nick Clarke
    • Nick Danziger
    • Dr Richard Tait
    • Bill Emmott
    • Ekow Eshun
    • Fadia Faqir
    • Roger Graef
    • Liz Grogan
    • Jeremy Hardy
    • Isabel Hilton
    • Rosemary Hollis
    • Darcus Howe
    • Liz Jobey
    • Martha Kearney
    • Jennifer Langer
    • Ken Loach
    • Andrew MacDonald
    • Michael Mansfield
    • Sue McGregor
    • Charlotte Moore
    • Maggie Paterson
    • Libby Purves
    • Mark Sealy
    • Moira Stewart
    • Aiden Sullivan
    • Lesley Warner

    Find out more about the Media Awards ...

    View latest press releases