Skip to main content
Amnesty International UK
Log in

Media Awards 2008 shortlist announced

Amnesty International UK today announced the shortlists for its prestigious annual Media Awards, which recognise excellence in human rights reporting and acknowledge journalism’s significant contribution to the UK public’s awareness and understanding of human rights issues.

The winners of the 17th annual Amnesty International UK Media Awards will be announced at a ceremony at the Royal Horticultural Halls, London, on Tuesday 17 June, hosted by broadcaster Moira Stuart.

Shortlists are today announced in ten categories, including new awards for International Television & Radio and New Media. In addition, the recipient of the Amnesty International Special Award for Human Rights Journalism Under Threat will be announced on the night.


Gaby Rado Memorial Award (for a journalist covering human rights for less than five years)

Lucy Bannerman, The Times

Xan Rice, The Guardian

Zeina Aboul Hosn, Channel 4 News, ITN

Judges: Andrew MacDonald, John Mullholland, Maggie Paterson, Desa Rado, Jon Snow

International Television and Radio

Assignment: Louisiana burning, BBC World Service: Joanna Mills,
Jeremy Skeet, Mike Williams

Inside Burma - the crackdown, Al Jazeera English: Lucy Keating, Marcus Cheek, Tony Birtley, Badrul Hisham

The Lost Tribe - Secret Army of the CIA, Al Jazeera English: Eunice Lau, Stephanie Scawen, Tricia Tan, Tony Birtley

Judges: Mike Blakemore, Katherine Butler, Tim Marshall, Naresh Puri, Tim Singleton

National Newspapers

Children's rights for sale, The Telegraph: David Harrison

Iraqi interpreters series, The Times: Deborah Haynes

MI5's role in torture flight hell, The Observer: David Rose

Judges: David Barrett, Michele Lavery, Anna McKane, Maggie Paterson, Hamant Verma

New Media

Burma coverage, Kate McGeown, BBC News online: BBC News Interactive interactivity team, newsgathering team and Burmese section World Service.

Honour killing sparks fears of new Iraqi conflict, Institute for War and Peace Reporting: Sahar Al-Haideri

Tibet protests, Dan Chung, Tania Branigan, Jonathan Watts

Judges: Sara Ashton, Mel Herdon, Rupa Huq, Sue Matthias, Sally Thompson

Nations and Regions

BBC Wales Today – Ama Sumani, BBC Wales: Alistair McGhie, Carolyn Carey Jones, Gail Morris Jones, Nick Palit

Congo to Motherwell, BBC Scotland: Fiona Walker, Dorothy Parker, Fiona Walker, Matt Pinder

Immigration investigation, Lancashire Evening Post: Stefanie Hall

In the line of fire, Spectrum (Scotland on Sunday magazine): Billy Briggs

Judges: Patrick Corrigan, Robin Denselow, Tomos Livingstone, Professor Monica McWilliams, Shereen Nanjiani

Periodicals (a winner to be announced in each subcategory)

Newspaper supplements
Gender genocide, Sunday Times Magazine: Christine Toomey

Selling soccer into slavery, Live (Mail on Sunday magazine): Jonathan Green

Consumer magazines
No place for Children's rights, New Statesman: Alice O'Keeffe

Nothing Personal / Under Pressure / Crime Without Punishment, Index on Censorship: Fatima Tlisova / Sergei Bachiwin / Alexei Simonov

Judges: Kamal Ahmed, Jeremy Dear, Gabriela Flores, Isabel Hilton, Ian Hislop, Maggie Paterson


Congo unrest, Newsweek: Cedric Gerbehaye

In the line of fire, Spectrum (Scotland on Sunday magazine): Angela Catlin

There's the rub, Guardian Weekend: Justin Jin

Judges: Helen Healy, Marie O’Riordan, Maggie Paterson, Carlos Reyes-Manzo, Charlotte Schmidt, Roger Tooth


Honour killings, BBC Radio 4 - File on Four: Samantha Fenwick, David Ross, Angus Stickler

The My Lai tapes, BBC Radio 4 - The Archive Hour: Rosie Goldsmith, Sue Ellis, Maria Balinska, Robert Hodierne

Where there's muck: Mike Thomson in the Congo, Radio 4, Today Programme: Pascale Harter, Ceri Thomas, Mike Thompson

Judges: Jenny Abramsky, Jane Anderson, Mike Blakemore, Henry Bonsu, Jill Burridge

Television Documentary and Docudrama

Storyville: The devil came on horseback, BBC FOUR / Break Thru Films: Gretchen Wallace, Jane Wells, Annie Sundberg, Ricki Stern, Nick Fraser, Brian Steidle

Storyville: Taxi to the dark side, BBC TWO / Jigsaw Productions / Steps International: Alex Gibney, Eva Orner, Susannah Shipman, Don Edkins, Mette Heide, Nick Fraser

The boys from Baghdad High, BBC / Renegade Pictures: Ivan O'Mahoney, Laura Winter, Karen O'Connor

Judges: Chris Atkins, Mike Blakemore, Sophie Chalk, Cait Fitzsimons, Jane Kerr

Television News

Exploited workers, BBC News (10:00): Annie Allison, Craig Oliver, Allan Little, Audreus Lelkaitis

Five years in Iraq, ITN / Guardian Films: Teresa Smith, Maggie O’Kane, Ghaith Abdul-Ahad

Too young to die - Children's rights of the frontline, ITV News / ITN: Chris Rogers, Deborah Turness

Judges: Mike Blakemore, Mishal Husain, Sarfraz Manzoor, Kim Sengupta, Darshna Soni

View latest press releases